Open My Eyes!

For the past five weeks I have been a part of Melissa Taylor’s online bible study of the book Greater by Steven Furtick. This week just happens to be the last week of the study.

Every week in the online study we do what is called a blog hop. This is where we get some topics to choose, write a blog on one of the topics, and link it up to the webpage that my online study is on. I have yet to participate in the blog hop and I do not really have a good reason why. I kept wanting to do it but I just never made the time to write-up a blog. But this week I have decided to just do it! Better late than never, right? The topic I have chosen to write about is my thoughts on our reflection verse. That verse is II Kings 6:17a NIV “O LORD, open {our} eyes so {we} may see…”

When I first decided on this topic, I had no clue what to write. But as I was reading in another book I came across this: “Sometimes it doesn’t matter what our eyes have seen. The voice of fear can be powerfully persuasive” (taken from page 188 of Grace for the Good Girl by Emily P. Freeman). Then all of a sudden it hit me! I have seen, read, and heard from so many different women who have been redeemed by God and who have had amazing things happen in their lives. But I have never really thought those things could happen to me. I believe in God, yes. But I have a hard time believing that He can do great things in and through me. I long to be in a place where I can not only just believe, but trust! I pray that God will open my eyes so that I may see.

On page 176 in Greater Pastor Steven Furtick says, “…what matters is how strong He is in you. Open your eyes! You’re not alone.” God, the Creator of the universe, is IN ME! Oh Lord, please open my eyes so that I may see what you see; so that I may know that no matter what, I am not alone. On page 170 he says, “Are you seeing what God sees? Have you seen your life from His perspective? Your Father sees something MORE than you see…and he wants you to see it too. Even when you don’t know so, you can rest in the reality that God says so.” So even though I do not feel like God can do something great in and through me, God says that He can. I need to trust in Him and realize that I do not see things the way that God does. He sees something in me that I do not yet see. But I pray that He opens my eyes so that one day I can see what He sees.

My life application bible says this about II Kings 17: “Look with the eyes of faith and let God show you His resources. If you don’t see God working in your life, the problem may be your spiritual eyesight, not God’s power.” So I must ask myself: Is the problem my spiritual eyesight? And if it is, what can I do about it? O God please open my eyes and help me to see!

31 thoughts on “Open My Eyes!

  1. shecat125 says:

    Kristen,

    This is awesome. Such great questions. Such great searching. Wonderful questions and insight.
    Blessings,
    Catherine
    OBS Group Leader

  2. tina says:

    Kristen, awesome job I know it is hard to step out and do this. I had never written before Online bible study and have only done two or three. So excited for you and what God is going to do in and through you. Great first blog πŸ™‚

    • kristenlee68 says:

      Tina,
      I have never written a blog before now either! But it feels good to write down my feelings and to share my thoughts with others! I hope to improve along the way too! Thanks for taking the time to read my blog! It means so much! πŸ™‚

      Love and blessings my dear!!

  3. Jennifer N (OBS Group Leader) says:

    I love this! What an awesome one for your first. Keep reaching. Keep growing. Keep stepping out in obedience! Can’t wait to see more!! <3!!

  4. Bree says:

    I loved reading this entry, Kristen! I too have had a difficult time believing God can do great things through me. That’s why I’ve decided to focus on one word this year: TRUST. Despite past setbacks, I’m still capable of making a difference. I’m working on trusting God by being obedient. I’m looking forward to reading more of your entries! Awesome job!!

    • kristenlee68 says:

      Bree,
      Thank you so much! I know exactly what you mean! I love that you have choosen trust as your focus word! Thank you for taking the time to read this and post your thoughts!

      Love and blessings girl!

  5. I simply cannot believe this is your first blog post. Wow. Such insight and so well written. I absolutely loved it. This totally blessed me and I LOVE what the Life Application Bible says. Soooo good.
    I can’t wait to read your blog posts for the next study.
    God bless you
    Love
    Nicki

  6. Kristen you did great! Love it! Keep it up. Debbie W. (OBS)

  7. prince26155 says:

    Kristen, you have taken a baby step and each time you do this, you will begin to sense that, “yes, God can use even me”. It’s a scary feeling in a way, because once you realize that the Greater One lives in you and through you, you are responsible to start living it. You have began your “greater” journey. I’m so happy you are doing your first blog today. The timing is perfect. Just keep going and trusting the God who lives on the inside of you!

  8. Kristen, I definitely see God working in your life! He makes all things new! Just keeping swimming with the Lord and see where His glory will take you! Love, Sue : ) Great post!

  9. kristenlee68 says:

    I just wanted to thank each of you for taking the time to read my blog post! I appreciate it! And thank you for your sweet, kind encouraging words! They mean so much!

  10. Polly Schneider says:

    Thanks, Kristen, for sharing your blog today. It is an encouragement to me. I have been thinking about starting my own blog too, but I just haven’t yet. Your blog helped me to see that I can do this too. Thanks again!

    • kristenlee68 says:

      Polly,
      I am glad that you found this blog post helpful! I was nervous about starting my own blog and sharing my writing but I am so happy I decided to stop being afraid and trust God! I would love to read yours once you get it started! Thanks for taking the time to read mine πŸ™‚

      Love and blessings!

  11. Kristen, thank you for sharing! I need an Spiritual eye exam! Time for that to happen!! What a blessing!

  12. AWESOME job. So glad you wrote your first blog post for the blog hop!!!!

  13. Mary B OBS leader says:

    I feel the same way, not big moments for me to say Aha, but maybe my aha is right under my nose or above it in my line of vision already! Thanks for giving me something to think about! πŸ™‚

  14. Marilyn says:

    Thank you for sharing this post. I like where you said even though I do not feel like God can do something great through me,God says that He can and that I need to trust in Him and realize that I do not need to see things the way God does. I just need to trust and open my eyes spiritually to see. Blessings !

  15. CG says:

    Awesome out of the starting gate, Kristen!!! So inspiring. Thank you!

  16. Well done Kristen! Beautiful, inspiring, thought provoking and challenging! If this is your first blog post, I can’t wait to see what God does through you sharing your writing in the future!

    I’m always taken aback when I really think about the Creator of the Universe living inside of me. Blows me away. How could I be filled with doubt and insecurity knowing that? Thanks for the reminder to open our eyes πŸ™‚

    • kristenlee68 says:

      Melissa,

      It amazes me too that our Created is in me. And to be honest, sometimes it is hard for me to believe. But I am working on it and I will keep praying for Him to open my eyes!

      Thanks for taking the time to read my blog! It means more than words can say!

      Thank you so much for your kind, thoughtful words! They mean so much! You and all of the OBS women are such an inspiration to me!

      Love and blessings!

Leave a Reply

